1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging

Discussion in 'Server Administration and Options' started by sameer, Sep 2, 2008.

  1. sameer

    sameer Forum Advisor

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging

    Log4plsql is an open source tool that uses PL/SQL framework to log into PL/SQL code package, function, web application, procedure, trigger and various oracle tools such as reports, forms etc. Before we proceed with Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging, it is important to understand the concept behind the importance of logging and logs in the development environment.

    Logging is very important part of development lifecycle for any process or application. These logs are important for tracing functional events, data and operations. Logs are also used for code debugging and in testing or maintenance phase to understand unforeseen events such as system crash, quit or launch. It is considered as a very time-consuming tedious job as all the logs during the development strategy have to be considered which utilizes vital computer memory or resources.


    Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging helps you to manage your logs and enhances the functionality and performance of your computer system. You can also log to various destinations such as SMTP, external file, Oracle table in database, alert log file, trace file, JDBC, SocketHub, JMS, Telnet, Syslog, console and mail as per your needs or requirements.

    Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging has seven log levels and each level signifies an event for logging. To turn-off, logging first level of Log4plsql is used. Second level is used to designate the severe errors that abort application. Third level of Log4plsql designates those error events, which do not stop application from running. Very harmful situations are designated with Fourth level Log4plsql. Fifth level Log4plsql deals with informational messages about the application progress. Sixth level Log4plsql designates events that are useful when we want to debug an application. Seventh level is used to switch on all logging.

    Installation of Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging is very easy. Just follow these simple steps:

    • Download Log4Sql from sourceforge.
    • Unzip the zip file at the location where you want Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging to be installed.
    • Run the executable install file in cmd directory.
    • Basic installation of Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging is complete and now you need to proceed only if you want to functions or features.
    An advanced user has more requirements or desires from Log4plsql for PL/SQL Logging as compared to normal end users. Some of these advanced requirements are:
    • He or she needs to test logging level for which they code it before logging with any of the IsEnabled functions such as isInfoEnabled, isErrorEnabled, isDebugEnabled, isWarnEnabled and isFatalEnabled.
    • An advanced user may want to change the default log parameters for a certain application.
    • Need to create log section in hierarchical log node. You can also specify your own hierarchical log node by defining begin, end and get section.