1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Delay when running a query with a specific schema name

Discussion in 'General' started by alexcol, Jan 14, 2018.

1. alexcol

alexcol Active Member

Good afternoon:

I need your help please, I am new at Oracle

Im trying to run the below query in order to know what sessions are doing given a username ICONTABLE_SCL'

Previusly check up if username exists

Code (SQL):
    SQL> SELECT USERNAME FROM SYS.ALL_USERS
      2  WHERE username LIKE 'ICONTABLE%';

USERNAME
    ------------------------------
    ICONTABLE_SCL
    Afterward i execute the the view to know if this session is working with this username or schema name but it didn bring any results after some hours;

Code (SQL):
    SELECT a.sid, a.serial#, b.sql_text
    FROM v$session a, v$sqlarea b
    WHERE a.sql_address=b.address
    AND a.username='ICONTABLE_SCL';

It should bring me sth right away or at least get any error but nothing yields

Is there any other query to approach this:

Thanks for your help in advanced

2. zargon

zargon Community Moderator Forum Guru

"...after some hours" Are you certain you actually executed this query? Or did it simply sit there waiting for a carriage return to get it going? I have no problems getting immediate results from that query on my database so there's nothing wrong with the code.

You need to capture everything you are doing in a file and post that file here so everyone can see what you're actually doing. I suspect it's that it's waiting for you to hit "Enter" or "Return" to get it going.

3. alexcol

alexcol Active Member

Thank you.

I have captured what i did in an file without getting any result, afterward pressing Enter keypad several times
    File output.txt is empty

Code (SQL):
    spool output.txt
    AND a.username='ICONTABLE_SCL';
    push Enter
    push Enter