1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Any demand for part-time freelance oracle pl/sql programmers?

Discussion in 'Jobs Board' started by aegis, Oct 26, 2016.

1. aegis

aegis Newly Initiated

Hi everyone,

I'm a CPA and I work in financial reporting for a large corporation that uses R12. I previously worked in public accounting as an auditor and I had clients that required me to query their database to get the information I needed to conduct the audits of multiple entities. So, although I was a financial statement auditor as opposed to an IT auditor, I had some exposure to SQL.

Anyway, I'm kind of bored with my job and I've been looking for some ways to make extra money on the side. Is it feasible for an accountant to learn PL/SQL and earn some extra money bidding on jobs on freelance sites? Or is the learning curve too steep? Any other suggestions?

2. zargon

zargon Community Moderator Forum Guru

Since I don't know your experience level with Oracle it's difficult to say just how difficult it will be for you to learn how to program with PL/SQL. PL/SQL is different from SQL and SQL*Plus so you can't really compare the two. You should start reading here:

https://docs.oracle.com/cloud/latest/db112/LNPLS/toc.htm

to understand what PL/SQL is. Another good resource is:

http://www.stevenfeuerstein.com/learn/learn-plsql

After going through those you should be able to make your own assessment as to your skills and proficiency. Only then will you be able to decide if you understand enough to take side jobs.

3. Sadik

Sadik Community Moderator Forum Guru

Yes of course. In my experience the best way to learn something is through implementation.

Here's what I would do if I were in your shoes.