1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

What is Oracle Apps?

Discussion in 'General' started by piyuyawa, Mar 19, 2010.

1. piyuyawa

piyuyawa Active Member

Hello,

Im new to oracle apps..
    I have been working on Oracle for the last 6.5 years as a software developer.
    I have been working on Oracle 7.x, 8 and 10g database for back-end and Oracle Forms, Reports D2K, 6i and 10g for front-end.

I would now like to upgrade myself to oracle apps, but dont know how to proceed.
    I know that oracle apps is basically a collection of ready made applications like Financial, HRMS, etc.
    But, I cant make out how to start learning the same.
    What do i need to install on my machine to practice/learn?
    Which books do I need to refer to?
    And most importantly, how to get myself certified as a Oracle apps developer, as I couldnt find any Oracle certification exam for the same. :confused:

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. Sadik

Sadik Community Moderator Forum Guru

For starters you may read this article:

What is Oracle Apps. Let me know your thoughts here after reading. I will let you know something about certifications.

piyuyawa likes this.
  3. piyuyawa

piyuyawa Active Member

Hey Sadik,

Thanks a bunch for the starter article...
    Understood the concept.
    You have said that "Different modules are organized into different schemas like PO, INV, GL schemas etc."
    Does this mean that if a user wants to use Ora Apps, they will have to have these schema only in their database, i.e. are the schema names fixed?

Also, what should I refer to next?

4. Sadik

Sadik Community Moderator Forum Guru

5. debrah.h48

debrah.h48 Active Member