1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

TO_DATE conversion of a column which contains dates in different NLS_DATE_LANGUAGEs

Discussion in 'SQL PL/SQL' started by albot, May 4, 2013.

1. albot

albot Active Member

Hi all,

I'm not very experienced with smart SQL queries so I wanted to ask some feedback on potential options for the issue I have.

I have encountered a rather stupid problem when I wanted to generate an ad-hoc query (see below)

select s.collection_key ckey,
    pv.enteredvalue, to_date(substr(pv.enteredvalue,1,11),'dd-MON-yyyy', 'NLS_DATE_LANGUAGE = American')
    from
    en_sections s,
    en_fields f,
    en_properties p,
    en_property_values pv
    where f.name = 'General Information'
    and p.field_key = f.primary_key
    and pv.field_key = f.primary_key
    and pv.property_key = p.primary_key
    and pv.section_key = s.primary_key
    and pv.version_deleted is null
    and pv.enteredvalue is not null

Unfortunately, the column pv.enteredvalue seems to contain American date formats and Dutch date formats (e.g. 12-Jan-2013, 10-mei-2010, the latter date should be 12-May-2010) and we are not allowed to change the entered values in this column (audited lab notebook system).

Is there anyone who has a brilliant idea how to solve this problem?
    Any help is very much appreciated

Best regards, Alex

2. sambuduk

sambuduk Forum Advisor

Re: TO_DATE conversion of a column which contains dates in different NLS_DATE_LANGUAG

Hi Alex,

Is there any other column to identify the language of the date ?? If there , by using decode() or case statement you can try to solve this..

Regards
    Sambasiva Reddy.K

3. albot

albot Active Member

Re: TO_DATE conversion of a column which contains dates in different NLS_DATE_LANGUAG

Thanks very much, Sambasiva.