1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Oracle ECM/SharePoint integration

Discussion in 'Oracle Webcenter Suite (formerly Oracle ECM)' started by joojacob, Jan 19, 2009.

1. joojacob

joojacob Active Member

Hi everybody,

I’m currently doing a thesis on Oracle ECM. The central questions my thesis seeks to answer is if a combination between Oracle ECM and Microsoft SharePoint is technically possible and economically viable.

I’ve found an Oracle whitepaper called “Getting the most out of Oracle ECM and SharePoint” in which it states that Oracle has webparts that facilitate the integration with SharePoint.

I haven’t found any real life case of a Oracle ECM/SharePoint integration.

I’m curious to know if anybody on this site has implemented SharePoint and Oracle?

2. Sadik

Sadik Community Moderator Forum Guru

Technically possible ,maybe yes... economically viable or practical... NO!

I have found a few cases of people migrating from sharepoint to UCM but haven't come across anyone who wants to shell out cash to both microsoft and oracle! :p

3. andre.almeida

andre.almeida Active Member

Sadik,

What the advantage of UCM instead Sharepoint?
    What's the best of this 2 systems?

4. joojacob

joojacob Active Member

So no real life cases of Oracle ECM/SharePoint combinations?

It’s not really a matter of shelling out cash for Oracle and Microsoft.(Oracle would be the winner in all area except integration with Microsoft Office and the cost of software)

The situations I have in mind are the following:
    - A company is already using SharePoint and comes to the realization that it doesn’t meet its ECM needs. It wants to keep using SharePoint for the collaboration/Document Management features but needs imaging and more advanced Information Rights Management functionality