1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Oracle DBA interview Questions - Any good book available?

Discussion in 'Interview Discussions' started by docora, Aug 23, 2012.

1. docora

docora Active Member

Hi Friends,

Nowadays, I have been appearing technical Oracle DBA job interviews. I faced 2 interviews before one week back. Too many tricky dba interview questions asked including some real time scenario based which I didn't face situation any time during my career. I have 2 years experience but I failed to clear past interviews. I tried to find out dba interview questions from web, but all are very old questions and answers. Some of those articles contain in-appropriate answers. Is there any good book available for Oracle DBA interview questions which cover all kind of tricky and hard questions with detail answers? I want to buy this book at any cost for preparing new interview. Thanks a ton in advance for any good suggestion.

2. zargon

zargon Community Moderator Forum Guru

No. The interview process isn't to see who can memorize canned answers from websites/blogs/email chains/etc., it's to sort out those who possess the proper level of experience for the position. It is indeed unfortunate for you that your two years of experience wasn't sufficient for the positions you've interviewed for however the companies offering these positions have valuable data in production databases that need proper administration by an experienced Oracle DBA. Keep trying, you will find a position that suits your experience and will allow you to gain more so better jobs will be available to you. Cheating by memorizing answers may get you past the interview process but won't impart a deep understanding of the problem/solution and should such a scenario play out in real life you will be unprepared to address it. People have lost jobs in such a way.

3. kimipatel