1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Oracle 10g Installation

Discussion in 'Installation - Windows' started by OracleTechie, Oct 1, 2010.

1. OracleTechie

OracleTechie Active Member

Hello all,

Im new to the furum

I have recently installed Oracle Database 10g Release 2 (10.2.0.1.0) for Microsoft Windows.
    I want to use SQL Plus and SQLPLus that come with this. It asks for a username and password. However i cant get passed this as it does not ask for a username and password at start of installation. I have read somewhere that I may just have the client.

In the past when using this at University I had a username and password set up and there were test databases such as 'hr'. I also remember having use to scott and tiger to also access this. Is there someting I am missing? I know there is but can you let me know where I have gone wrong.

Thanks in advance,
    OracleTechie

2. zargon

zargon Community Moderator Forum Guru

Not really; you need to let us know what, exactly, you installed (db server or client). If you installed the server and created a pre-configured database from those included in the installation then you'll need to look in the any README files or included documents for those databases. You can, of course, connect as follows to a local database:

C:\ :> sqlplus / as sysdba

and presuming your environment is set properly you should successfully create a session. If, on the other hand, you installed nothing more than the client then unless you have network access to an Oracle database somewhere using sqlplus will be useless.

The .zip file you used to create the installation binaries will tell you what you've installed.

3. OracleTechie

OracleTechie Active Member

Hi David,