1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Obsfucation procedure compiles but will not run

Discussion in 'SQL PL/SQL' started by Bobby_Lamp, Jun 21, 2012.

1. Bobby_Lamp

Bobby_Lamp Active Member

Hello all, I want to preface this by saying that I am new to Oracle and new to these forums so bear with me if I'm not being concise enough on the problem. Basically I wrote this procedure (code below) to obsfucate a specific column within a table specified by the user in the procedure call. It is really frustrating because the procedure compiles, but when I try to pass in parameters it will not work and gives me errors. I am at my wit's end with this thing and any help is appreciated. Thanks!

The basic code structure is that it will insert the values into a type of "control" table based on the active value, which will always be 1 or 0. Then based on the audit flag, which will always be 1 or 0, the procedure would either update the table with the dbms_random package or not depending on the value. Basically where the errors arise are when I call the procedure and pass in parameters. It has been giving me all kinds of crazy errors and stuff. The procedure call should look something like this: select schema.phi_scrub 'BLAMPE', 'TEST4', 'SSN', '1', '1'; Once again thanks in advance for the help and bear with me because I am very new to Oracle/plsql coding.

create or replace
    PROCEDURE phi_scrub(p_schema_name in varchar2, p_table_name in varchar2, p_column_name in varchar2, p_active in varchar2, p_audit_flag in varchar2)
    AS

BEGIN
    BEGIN
    FOR t in (SELECT schema_name, table_name,active FROM schema.encrypt_table WHERE schema_name=p_schema_name and table_name=p_table_name)
    LOOP
    BEGIN
    IF (t.active = 1) THEN
    dbms_output.put_line('Table already exists will not insert!');
    ELSE