1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Need a piece of advice, please reply!

Discussion in 'Coffee Corner' started by bdtagar, Feb 26, 2011.

1. bdtagar

bdtagar Active Member

Hi,
    I have some confusion, hope you will help me get rid of it. I did diploma in Computer science some 10 years ago in which I studied C++ and oracle Oracle DevSuite 2000. And also did M.Sc in Physics. Could not get job as a developer but worked as a Teacher for Physics and Maths. Now I have moved to IT and recently completed my MIT. Now I have good experience in IT because I prepared PCs of my friends. And also learnt Java on my own. Now I like developing Algorithms and coding for web using Java EE and PHP. But I am also interested in Oracle DBMS and want to OCP. and I can do OCP within 4 months because I am very fast in learning and pick everything up quickly. But I have a confusion. Should I go to OCP-DBA directly or OCP-PL/SQL + Oracle DevSuite+Oracle e-Business Suite first. I don't like concept of 24x7 for DBAs and also not interested in every new technology as a developer.
    :(
    Please, answer my Q.
    Thanks in advance.
    Bye...

2. bdtagar

bdtagar Active Member

Hey,
    I didn't get any reply but decided myself that I will go with Oracle developer - OCP and if got an opportunity and liked DBA job then I will do it otherwise will stick to developer-role. Right now working as a Java developer.
    bye...

3. virusx1984

virusx1984 Active Member

MIT = Massachusetts Institute of Technology ? you're genius ! !

4. Sadik

Sadik Community Moderator Forum Guru

Hi bdtagar, DBAs, Developers, there's market demand for both. At the end of the day it boils down to 3 Es - Education, Expertise and Experience. :) Best of Luck...

5. JanetteBates

JanetteBates Active Member

thanks a lot

6. bhendega

bhendega Guest

Hi