1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Multiple Outer Joins

Discussion in 'SQL PL/SQL' started by reylliam, Feb 1, 2011.

1. reylliam

reylliam Active Member

Hello,

I'm a relative novice with no formal Oracle training, (my background comes from VB) but generally get around SQL with no trouble until now... I have been asked to provide a report that I can't generate with my given knowledge set. I simply hadn't had this issue come up before. This is where you come in. :) I am using Toad for Oracle version 9.1.0.62, but this is more a basic SQL question than version dependent, I'm sure...

I have a core pair of tables (let's say T1 and T2) that inner join together no problem; 1-to-1 match is a given. I have 5 "satellite" tables that each have records that pertain to *some* rows from T1/T2, as applicable to the needs of the application. The sets are independent, so some T1/T2 records will be pulling with no matching information on any satellite tables, some with information from all 5 satellite tables, and the rest from various combinations of the 5.

The result set is supposed to present selected columns from all 7 tables, as a sort of master report. I expect NULL should return for columns coming from tables with no relevant records for T1/T2.

I ran into the multiple outer join error trying to achieve this myself, so what, if any, workaround exists to bind these together into one query to return everything?

Thanks kindly to any assistance in pointing me in the right direction.

EDIT: I should add this error came about due to my use of (+) .. which is somewhat new to me and I may have misunderstood its application...

[I did try to do a search for any document first, but I must not have searched correctly if one exists, so, apologies in advance if this was illustrated somewhere on the site already...]

-Jason

2. zargon