1. The Forum has been upgraded to a modern and advanced system. Please read the announcement about this update.
  2. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Installation of Oracle 10g on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Installation - Windows' started by ksjj, Aug 14, 2011.

1. ksjj

ksjj Active Member

hi,

There is a proposal to buy 10 laptops in my office for use to work in oracle 10g and forms and reports developer 2000 . We already have desktops with windows xp and working fine. this is for the officers and i found all new laptops come with windows 7 and not with windows xp.

there seems to be a view that oracle 10g is not compatible with windows 7 and cannot be installed. is that true?

kindly clarify and can suggest some installation guide to do this. I did try searching in google. there seems to be mixed opinion on this. i am a little bit confused as i am new to working in oracle

2. Sadik

Sadik Community Moderator Forum Guru

Re: How to Install Oracle 10g on windows 7

Hi ksjj

10g is just a Marketing version. When you say 10g which version do you mean?

Oracle 10g's earlier releases are not supported on Windows 7. However Windows 7 is supported for the latest 10g release. The following is from the Release Notes of 10g Release 2 (10.2) for Microsoft Windows (32-Bit)

Source: http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/relnotes.102/b14264/toc.htm

So you can install 10.2.0.5 on Windows 7 32 bit and x64 just fine. Earlier versions are not supported on Win 7. Please note that through some tweaking, earlier Oracle 10g releases can also be installed on win 7 but that would be unsupported by Oracle and hence not recommended.

3. zargon

zargon Community Moderator Forum Guru