1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

How create only read permissions user Oracle 8.05

Discussion in 'Server Administration and Options' started by rcarabaj, Aug 4, 2010.

1. rcarabaj

rcarabaj Active Member

Hello:

Please, I apologize because I am new to database administration tasks and my question could be seen as very simple .
    I have an Oracle 8.05 working database, and have need to create a general-query-user to let all programmers run their report generators. There is an scheme in the database and programmers should read all data tables, and code from triggers, procedures, functions and packages, but it is very important that they can only read such objects. There are already roles that can be used in this database, but I have fear that my lack of expertise can open a security hole. Perhaps it´s better to define a complete new role for this type of access. Please, I would appreciate you can tell me the exactly steps (scripts ) I should acomplish to create an all-objects-only-read user within a given schema.
    Thanks very much for your time. My best regards.
    Roberto

2. zargon

zargon Community Moderator Forum Guru

All objects in a specific schema or all objects, period? I'm hoping it's the former and not the latter as you would open security holes by allowing even read-only access to many data dictionary and fixed views and tables.