1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Discoverer export issue

Discussion in 'Oracle Discoverer' started by Bharat, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Hi all,

    We are using discoverer 11g. Here we are having more than 1 lakh records for my report. While we export the data to excel file its splitting the output to two sheets. Iam using excel 2010. In export option we don't have .xlsx option. So we are not getting the entire report into one sheet. Can anyone tell me how to get this.
     
  2. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Bharatappa,

    A simple workaround can be used. Export with CSV Option and open the file in Excel. I believe the reason for this is Excel 2010 is not certified for use by Oracle yet.
    What are you trying to export? I remember the limit for xlsx was 1million rows *(previous 2007 etc was much lesser).

    Shall Let you know after I check if the Certification thing has anything to do with this.
    cheers
    Ramji
     
  3. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Hi Ramji,

    Actually we have created AP Invoices Report in discoverer 11g. Now we are getting more than 1 lakh of records for this report. So we are trying to export the results to excel. But its getting only 65326 records for each sheet. We want to get all the records into one sheet itself. Actually we are using Ms Office 2010. In that excel saves in .xlsx format. But we are not getting that format in our discoverer. What should we need to do to get entire results into one sheet. Is there any way to do so?
     
  4. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Dear Bharat,

    That is right. The limitation of 65k is causing multiple sheets. I dont think Office 2010 is certified yet. Export as a CSV and then open the file in excel to get all rows in one sheet for now. Let me see if by tweaking the Excel code we can achieve the same result.
    cheers
    Ramji
     
  5. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Dear Bharat,

    Get hold of your DBA and make sure you apply the relevant patch on a test instance.
    Then export and test and once you get signoff move to production.
    The good news is that Discoverer 11g is certified for exporting to Excel 2010 with version 11.1.1.4.0 (patch set 3) and higher . Check with your dba
    cheers
    Ramji
     
  6. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Hi ramji,

    We have applied that patch also but it doesn't works. Is it working for you. Have you checked it practically? If so can you please post the exact patch details.
     
  7. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Dear Bharat,

    Kindly get the DBA team to log an SR and work with oracle to establish the root cause. It is important to let them know the issues you face even after applying the patch. Meantime you can use the CSV format and export and then open that file in Excel 2010 as a workaround.
    Rgds
    Ramji
     
  8. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Hi ramji,

    Thanks for your reply bhayya. We have logged SR now. I will update the results when I get solution from them.
     
  9. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Bharat,

    The patch has worked in a couple of sites. The reason I asked you to log an SR is your environment will be different. Your DBA's could have missed out on some steps, extraneous factors in your environment like security policies/group policies etc could impede or impact the way excel works. Above all this if there is a bug or a problem with the patch we owe it to Oracle and our profession to bring it to their attention at the earliest so that a solution will be available for all at the earliest.
    Thanks and Best Regards,
    Ramji
     
  10. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Hi ramji,

    Yeah may be setup varies from our side. Till now didn't find out any solution on it. The bug [12642419] is in review mode.
     
  11. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Any update on this?? And did you try the csv workaround?
    Thanks
    Ramji
     
  12. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Dear ramji,

    The below reply is updated by them.

    The above is replied by them with some more data like few statuses. Neglected them. Just posted IMP data.
     
  13. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Dear Bharat,

    Thanks for the update.Try the csv option and let us know.
    cheers
    ramji
     
  14. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Hi Ramji,

    Its works fine when we use csv option. But client is asking for excel'2010 option only. So we are looking for that bhayya.
     
  15. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Bharat,

    Enhancement requests take time. Tone down the client expectations for now.
    Rgds
    Ramji
     
  16. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    Yeah we have stated this one to them. And don't know exactly what they said again to us.
     
  17. Ramji

    Ramji Forum Guru

    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    177
    Trophy Points:
    1,505
    Location:
    Nomad
    Bharatappa,

    What happened. Pls update?
    cheers
    Ramji
     
  18. Bharat

    Bharat Community Moderator Forum Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    1,805
    Location:
    Vijayawada, India
    This issue was not closed bhayya. May be it takes some time.