1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Creating backups and fast recovery using RMAN

Discussion in 'Security, Backup and Recovery' started by FDavidov, Jan 7, 2015.

1. FDavidov

FDavidov Active Member

Hello everybody,

I'm quite new with RMAN package and, to be frank, reading the manual (for the 3rd time!) is not helping much.

I'd very much appreciate if anyone with experience in RMAN functionality would assist with some simple "recipes".

1) I have an operational database (Oracle 11 R2) configured in a RAC mode with about 15 datafiles.
    2) I want to perform daily backups that would create fully copy of the datafiles.
    3) Once the backup is completed, these files would be MOVED/COPIED (using OS commands) to a separate folder (e.g. a folder whose name would reflect the DATE of the backup; alternatively, the backup process could generate brand new files each time, but this would drastically increase the time it takes for the backup to complete, I think).
    4) While MOVING/COPYING the files to the other folder, the REDO logs would be copied to the folder of the previous day; this way, it would be possible to re-generate the database from scratch to just before backup "N" using the files of backup "N-1" + the REDO logs found while generating BACKUP "N".
    5) Whenever I need to restore the database (for whatever reason) I would like to take the data files from BACKUP "X-1", restore them, and then update them with the stored REDO logs found while generating BACKUP "X".

The following would (hopefully) explain what I would like to achieve:

:
    :
    FOLDER OF DAY 6 containing:
    - Data files found in day "6",
    - REDO logs found in day "7";
    FOLDER OF DAY 7 containing:
    - Data files found in day "7",
    - REDO logs found in day "8";
    FOLDER OF DAY 8 containing:
    - Data files found in day "8",