1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

Can some help a beginner? How to discover the amount of change made to e-business.

Discussion in 'Oracle Application Express (APEX)' started by Confused.com, May 5, 2014.

1. Confused.com

Confused.com Active Member

Hi Folks,

I am a business analyst asked to help user-acceptance-test a much configured R12 e-Business order management installation. I know absolutely nothing about how Oracle applications are configured. I don't even know what to ask for when I talk to our developers the other side of the world. I realise that there are MD050, MD070 and BR100 documents but they are not well written. I was wondering if there is a "system understanding" function within Oracle itself that will dump out a list of DFF fields, custom forms, hooks to external software and any other application changes? As a tester, I just need to identify that which has been subject to change. I can track down how it has changed with a bit of detective work.

I have asked the developers about this but they really don't understand what I am talking about. We are worlds apart even in engineering practices.

Confused.com.

2. DTSIGuy

DTSIGuy Forum Advisor

Re: Can some help a beginner? How to discover the amount of change made to e-busine

First off...this is in the wrong community...post needs to be moved to E-Business.

Second, why are you equating UA testing w/ changes made to the system? Those are completely different disciplines. Now, if you're developers have not annotated any of the changes and customizations to the environment...then you have a larger problem.