1. Get rid of all advertisements and get unlimited access to documents by upgrading to Premium Membership. Upgrade to Premium Now and also get a Premium Badge!

A newbie needs help with some PL/SQL basics...

Discussion in 'SQL PL/SQL' started by sigurko, Jan 18, 2011.

1. sigurko

sigurko Active Member

Hello all,

First, let me say that I'm a complete newbie to PL/SQL and to Oracle. I'd define my knowledge in databases as an advanced mysql user. Not a developer. The little code that I do write while working with mysql is in Perl.

Having that said, I'm looking for an example to learn from. Something that would illustrate the basics of PL/SQL Block Types - Sequence, Trigger, Function and Stored Procedure implemented in one simple example.

I've done some reading about this but my skills are far from implementing something on my own. I seem to understand each subject separately but when it comes to combining these techniques in one small project - I get lost :confused:

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
    Thanks, Matthew.

2. Sadik

Sadik Community Moderator Forum Guru

Hi Mathew,

Welcome to Club-Oracle. I am also not a PL/SQL developer but i can write code if I have to in oracle or mysql. If you have your logic right, different languages are usually a matter of syntax. At least that's what I feel.

There are several very good articles here that explain in beginner terms exactly what you are looking for. I would suggest you to browse the PL/SQL section under Articles.

Here's the link: SQL PL/SQL Articles

sigurko likes this.
  3. sigurko

sigurko Active Member

Hello Sadik,

Thank you so much for the useful link. Indeed, I found the relevant articles there!!!

I have a small and simple 'help desk' utility that runs on "Oracle Database 10g Express Edition". The utility has some basic functionality that is usually required from a help desk.